

NEW YORK COUNCIL ON CHILD AND ADOLESCENT PSYCHIATRY

Wilfred C. Hulse Award

The Wilfred Hulse Award for an outstanding contribution to the field of child and adolescent psychiatry.

Wilfred Hulse, M.D. was born in Germany in 1900 and received his medical degree at Breslau University, magna cum laude, in 1924. He trained in psychiatry and pediatrics. His first teacher in psychiatry was Emil Kraepelin. When Hitler came into power, Dr. Hulse left Berlin, where he was practicing, spent a year in Tunis, and then came to New York in 1935. He then joined the staff of the Mount Sinai Hospital. He published extensively in general psychiatry, child psychiatry, and group psychotherapy. He helped found Aufbau, the German language periodical, and worked to rescue many compatriots from the Nazi menace. While serving as President of the New York Council on Child Psychiatry, he died suddenly on January 9, 1962.

Bertram Slaff, M.D.

PAST RECIPIENTS

Presented for Significant Contributions to the field of child and adolescent psychiatry in the New York area

1.	Katharine F. Woodward, MD	1971
2.	Archie A. Silver, MD	1972
3.	Lauretta Bender, MD	1973
4.	Exie E. Welch, MD	1973
5.	Viola Bernard, MD	1974
6.	Peter B. Neubauer, MD	1975
7.	Virginia N. Wilking, MD	1976
8.	Stella Chess, MD	1977
9.	Frank J. Curran, MD	1978
10.	Margaret S. Mahler, MD	1979
11.	Joaquim Puig-Antich, MD	1980
12.	AnnMarie P. Weil, MD	1980
13.	Eleanor Galeson, MD	1981
14.	Theodore Shapiro, MD	1982
15.	Arthur H. Green, MD	1983
16.	Magda Campbell, MD	1984
17.	Sol Nichtern, MD	1985
18.	William Goldfard, MD	1986
19.	David Shaffer, MD	1987
20.	Dorothy Otnow Lewis, MD	1988
21.	Cynthia R. Pfeffer, MD	1989
22.	Clarice J. Kestenbaum, MD	1990
23.	Alexander Thomas, MD	1991

24. Bertram Slaff, MD	1992
25. John O'Brien, MD	1993
26. Paulina Kernberg, MD	1994
27. Harold S. Koplewicz, MD	1995
28. Larry Greenhill, MD	1996
29. Alvin A. Rosenfeld, MD	1997
30. Beatrix A. Hamburg, MD	1998
31. E. Gerald Dabbs, MD	1999
32. Margaret Hertzig, MD	2000
33. Hector Bird, MD	2001
34. Jeffrey Newcorn, MD	2002
35. Joseph Nieder, MD	2003
36. Ian Canino, MD	2004
37. Reese Abright, MD	2005
38. Harvey Kranzler, MD	2006
39. Stephen Billick, MD	2007
40. Pamela Cantor, MD	2008
41. Owen Lewis, MD	2008
42. Gabrielle Carlson, MD	2009
43. Sandra Kaplan, MD	2010
44. Warren Ng, MD	2011
45. Melvin Oatis, MD	2012
46. Richard Pleak, MD	2013
47. Jose Vito, MD	2014
48. Cathryn Galanter, MD	2015
49. Victor Fornari, MD	2016
50. Gabrielle Shapiro, MD	2017
51. Scott Palyo, MD	2018
52. Iliyan Ivanov, MD	2019
53. Carmel Foley, MD	2020
54. Vera Feuer, MD	2021
55. Stewart Adelson, MD	2022
56. Angel Caraballo, MD	2023